Coding with Renpy, Part 1 
Level 39
Level 39

Cash on hand:

Bank:
Group: Sysop
Post Coding with Renpy, Part 1
OR

A crude log of my experiments with Renpy.

Getting shits set up.

Level: Absolute beginner.

What we're gonna do: We're going to create a simple visual novel using Ren'Py, an engine for creating visual novels, complete with dialogue, choices, graphics, and sounds.

At the end of this tutorial series, you'll have learned how to create a visual novel with Ren'Py, and you'll have a finished game that can be sent to other people.

Skills that are absolutely needed to start off:

- Basic comprehension of ENGLISH MOTHERFUCKER, DO YOU SPEAK IT?!

- Downloading stuff.

Skills that will almost certainly come in handy as we go:

- Being able to draw people and scenery

- Being able to tell a story

Well, then; let's begin...

Step 0: A short (riiight) introduction to visual novels

Visual novels are, in short, kind of a mix between novels and video games. If you’ve ever tried a "Choose Your Own Adventure"-book, you’ll understand the concept pretty quickly.

They’re not exactly a video game in the classical sense, in that you can’t control most of the things that happen. Instead, you follow the story as it goes along. However, you’ll get several chances to interact, like in this scene:

I still want to play Katawa Shoujo. ;_; Someone help me with this stupid corrupted file.

Depending on your actions, the story is affected in different ways; the game might even end differently. BAD END GET.

If you're still unsure about what a visual novel is, just follow the tutorial. You’ll get to try out a short visual novel for yourself.

To make our visual novel, we’re going to use the engine Ren’Py, which allows us to create a visual novel without having to code everything.

Before starting, you must have...

- The Renpy engine. Get it here

- A decent code editor. I use SCITE/JEDIT. You can use notepad++ if that's how you roll.

Step 1: Getting everything we need